Monday, January 2, 2017

The Bahamas Road to Majority Rule and Independence

FLASH BACK: Following his Progressive Liberal Party’s historic victory in the January 10, 1967 general election, which established Majority Rule in The Bahamas for the first time, Premier Lynden Oscar Pindling is pictured in the foreground with British Governor Sir Ralph Gray and members of his first cabinet in the background. From left are: Cecil Wallace Whitfield, Milo Butler, Arthur Hanna, Clarence A. Bain, Jeffrey M. Thompson, Carlton Francis, Randol Fawkes, Warren Levarity, Dr. Curtis McMillan and Clement Maynard.

By Oswald Brown

As a former colony of Great Britain, The Bahamas’ attainment of independence on July 10, 1973, was relatively late when compared to some of its sister islands in the Caribbean that were also British colonies.

Jamaica, for example, after a failed attempt to establish a European Union-style West Indian Federation with Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados, became an independent country on August 6, 1962; Trinidad and Tobago followed on August 31, 1962; and Barbados severed its colonial “navel string” from Great Britain on November 30, 1966. Read more >>

No comments: