Monday, November 7, 2016

Dr. Calsey Johnson for Press Club Lifetime Achievment Award

The award is sponsored by Platinum Sponsor the Bahamas Telecommunications Company (BTC) and will be named in honor of long time Tribune publisher and editor, Sir Etienne Dupuch. A host of other awards will be given out to media professionals.

A veteran broadcaster, Mr. Johnson got his start in July 1959 when the late Eric Wilmott resigned from ZNS the national station, creating a vacancy in the newsroom. He transferred from the Public Treasury’s Audit Department and became a news reporter.

To add to his on the job training, young Calsey Johnson enrolled in a British Broadcasting Corporation correspondence course, which he successfully completed, broadening his knowledge of News Writing, Feature Writing and Broadcasting. Mr. Johnson was appointed Acting News Editor in 1966 and after completion of a two-year in-service scholarship at Ryerson Polytechnical Institute in Toronto, Canada in 1971, he was appointed News Director.

In 1972 Mr. Johnson was chosen by the Broadcasting Corporation to launch ZNS’ Northern Service in Freeport, Grand Bahama and stayed for two years as station manager. He returned to New Providence in 1974 and subsequently appointed general manager of the Corporation after the resignation of the late Walter Wisdom.

Failing his bid to win a seat as a Progressive Liberal Party candidate in the 1992 general election, he was appointed to the Senate by the late Prime Minister Sir Lynden Pindling and served until 1998.

Mr. Johnson was named The Bahamas’ High Commissioner to Canada in 2013 by Prime Minister the Rt Hon Perry Christie.

“Calsey Johnson is unquestionably one who paved the way for many of today’s senior broadcasters, most of whom followed him at ZNS,” says Press Club President, Anthony Newbold. “It is therefore with great pride that we reward this pioneer and trailblazer who for many years set the pace in broadcasting in The Bahamas.”

At The Press Club Awards held November 2015, The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Eileen Dupuch Carron, Editor and Publisher of the Tribune. Then, the World's longest current serving Editor and Publisher, 53 Years.